Enrollment and Eligibility

Enrollment / Change Instructions and Required Dependent Documentation for Eligibility (PDF)

Initial (New Hire) Enrollment

To enroll in the Plan, you must enroll online within 31 days of your hire date.  If you do not enroll within the time frame, you must wait until the next open enrollment period or until you experience a qualifying event.  Participation is optional, but to decline your insurance benefits you are required to complete a waiver online.  The start of coverage depends on your contract with your employer.  Tools to help you compare plans.

Special Eligibility Requirements for Spouses in Medical Plan Only

Spousal Enrollment Worksheet (PDF) must be completed and uploaded to the online enrollment site to determine whether the spouse meets the criteria to enroll in the BHP for primary medical coverage.  A spouse of an eligible employee who has coverage available through an employer-sponsored group health plan or retiree plan must join that plan on at least a SINGLE enrollment basis.  If your spouse is already enrolled in his/her employer’s medical plan, you do not need to complete the worksheet.

Dependent Children’s Enrollment

Eligible children include those up to age 26 for the Medical and Dental Plan.

For disabled dependent over age 26, use Disabled Dependent Certification (PDF).

Making Changes to Your Medical or Dental Plan Enrollment Mid-Year

You may make changes throughout the year if you have a qualifying event or family status change. You must make the change at butlerhealthplan.benelogic.com within 31 days after the qualifying event (and within 60 days to enroll a newborn). If you go beyond the time limit, you must wait until the next open enrollment period to make changes or additions.

Examples of a qualifying event (family status change)

  • Marriage
  • Divorce or Legal Separation
  • Dependent loss of coverage
  • Loss of coverage under a Medicaid plan or a state CHIP program
  • Relocating outside an HMO’s service area
  • COBRA benefits exhausted
  • Death
  • Qualified Child Medical Support Order (QCMSO)
  • Child turns 26
  • Adoption
  • Newborn (60 calendar days to enroll)

Annual Open Enrollment

Each year you have the opportunity to participate in the Medical and Dental Plan for the first time, change plan options, or add dependents without a qualifying event.  Your Treasurer or Personnel Department will provide Open Enrollment online instructions to you.  Open Enrollment occurs in the fall of each year with coverage effective January 1 of the following year.

District Enrollment Contacts

Butler County Educational Service Center Patty Spath-Meyer spathp@bcesc.org 513-887-5512
Butler Tech & Career Development School Amy Winegardner winegardnera@butlertech.org 513-645-8294
Fairfield City School District Sue Hollingsworth hollingsworth_s@fairfieldcityschools.com 513-858-7114
Great Oaks Career Campuses Paula Losey loseyp@greatoaks.com 513-612-3615
Hamilton City School District Steve Patterson spatterson@hcsdoh.org 513-868-4453
Madison Local School District Rich Natiello rich.natiello@madisonmohawks.org 513-420-4756
Middletown City School District Hannah Bowling hbowling@middletowncityschools.com 513-217-2642
Monroe Local School District Nancy Vitt nvitt@monroelocalschools.com 513-360-0706
New Miami Local School District Debbie Turner nmdebbieturner@new-miami.k12.oh.us 513-863-0833, x3005
Ross Local School District Brenda Olinger brenda.olinger@rossrams.com 513-863-1250
Sycamore Community School District Jill Woolwine woolwinej@sycamoreschools.org 513-686-1700, x5002
Talawanda City School District Holly Turner turnerh@talawanda.org 513-273-3100, x7